Monkfish and scallops in a mild curry sauce

I like curry spices with fish so I tend to cook things that allow me to blend the flavours quite often. However, I don’t like the curry to overpower the fish, so I tend to use the spices sparingly.

This dish is a pretty simple one, fish cooked in olive oil, some thread noodles, seared courgette ribbons and a mild coconutty, curry sauce.

The sauce was made by softening a chopped shallot, a mild red chilli and some tomato flesh in groundnut oil and then adding some threads of saffron, salt, pepper and a half-teaspoonful of a mild curry spice blend (cumin, coriander, turmeric, ground cloves, ground cinnamon) and stirring it around until everything was coated. Then I added a small carton of creamed coconut and a small amount of milk and brought it to a simmer. When everything was nicely cooked, I liquidised it and returned it to the pan.

Overall, this worked quite well, but I think that the next time I cook something like this I will use rice rather than noodles.

