Chicken curry, basmati rice and mango chutney

I started this curry off yesterday.

I made a marinade of thick Greek yoghurt, a heaped teaspoonful of Kashmiri chilli powder, a flat teaspoonful of turmeric, two teaspoonfuls of ground coriander and one of ground cumin, the juice of a lime, a small handfulof chopped mint leaves, a couple of tablespoonfuls of sunflower oil and some salt and pepper.

To this, I added two diced chicken breasts, mixed it all together and left it in the fridge overnight.

This evening, I made a smooth paste with three garlic cloves, a thumb-sized piece of ginger and half a white onion, with water to help it blend together.

I sautéed a diced red onion, half a diced white onion, a teaspoonful of cumin seeds and two chopped green chillies in sunflower oil until the onions started to brown.

I added in one large chopped tomato and the paste and sautéed it until the tomato was really soft and then added in the chicken and all the marinade, stirring well and then simmering uncovered until the oil started to split out.

Then I added some boiled water and cooked the dish covered for about 15 minutes.

While this was cooking, I did some Basmati rice to accompany the curry.

I served the curry and rice with a nice big spoonful of Geeta’s Mango Chutney, which is the nicest sweet mango chutney I have ever eaten.

One thought on “Chicken curry, basmati rice and mango chutney

Leave a Reply

