Keema with potato and aubergine

I had some minced lamb left over from last night’s lamb patties so I made a keema again.

This one differed from the Saag Keema I wrote about before quite a lot.

The base of the dish is a paste of onion, garlic and green chilli, which I added to some diced onion, potato and aubergine that I had already fried off in a pan with some mustard oil.

When the paste was mixed in, I added the lamb, which I had left in the fridge overnight mixed with some garam masala. I stirred the lamb in well, letting it cook with the other ingredients, before adding some diced tomatoes, salt and pepper and some Kashmiri chilli powder.

I left this to simmer for about 30-40 minutes, adding some boiled water to stop it drying out. Just before serving, I stirred in some chopped green coriander and left that to cook in for a few minutes.

I served it with plain Basmati rice, garnished with some more green coriander.

Leave a Reply

