Jamaican-style Jerk Chicken

I had a couple of nice free-range chicken pieces that I marinated in Jamaican jerk seasoning, lime juice and olive oil and then roasted in a ridged pan that you can also use on the hob. I started the chicken off on the hob, to get those lovely barbecued looking dark stripes on the skin.

To go with this I did the Jamaican classic dish of rice and peas, made with tinned gungo peas. There are lots of recipes for this dish on the internet, but this one is pretty standard. You can use red kidney beans or gungo peas in rice and peas but I prefer the gungo peas myself. In my recipe, I like to make sure that there is some green pepper and I want my rice to be well cooked but still with some texture.

I also made a nice crisp salad from shredded white cabbage, thinly sliced red onion, grated carrot, lime juice and olive oil.

You could drink pretty much any full-bodied red wine with this dish, the main thing is that it can stand up to the spiciness and chilli.

We chose a fullish bodied South American wine, the Los Rosales Chapel Vineyard Syrah Reserva 2008 from Chile, a wine with loads of fruit and some soft tannins, which was a great match for the flavoursome chicken. An Argentinian Malbec would also have been a great choice here, or, if you prefer, a chilled beer would work, I suppose that Red Stripe would be the classic choice here in the UK.

One thought on “Jamaican-style Jerk Chicken

Leave a Reply

