Roast chicken – one of the great comfort foods

I absolutely adore roast chicken , it is one of the nicest things I can think of to eat and it really is a dish for all seasons.

In the Summer, I like to roast the bird with new potatoes around it as well. Roast new potatoes are like tiny little jacket potatoes, but, I think, even nicer.

Today, I had bought some wood-smoked garlic and I added a few cloves to the roasting dish, along with sea salt, black pepper and Herbes de Provence and a generous glug of olive oil.

We had another simple salad with the chicken and we drank a rather nice 2006 Premières Côtes de Bordeaux AOC wine from Château Camail, a nicely forward red right bank claret, predominantly Merlot-based and with a lively cherry freshness. 2006 wasn’t an easy year in Bordeaux but, if you are careful, you can find some nice wines. Generally, they will be a bit more open and ready to drink that the 2005s, which can be truly excellent wines. 2006 is a year for early drinking, I think.

2 thoughts on “Roast chicken – one of the great comfort foods

  1. I usually put half a lemon inside my roast chicken, last time I put a sliced peach. It was nice. I have the same china as you used for this dish!

    • I usually put a split lemon inside a chicken to roast, plus some crushed but still whole garlic cloves. Sometimes, I will bruise a few sprigs of herbs. thyme or rosemary, and put them inside too.

      Nigella Lawson recommends putting half a stock cube inside, as apparently some Italians do, but I think it doesn’t really have much point unless you are going to use all the pan juices for gravy, which I wouldn’t make in the Summer.

      That serving plate used to belong to Nicola’s Mum but she gave it to Nicky ages ago. We love it and use it a lot.

Leave a Reply

