Barbecued beef short rib and jacket potato

I’d never cooked short ribs before, but the idea of giving them a barbecue treatment interested me.

I poached the ribs for about two hours with chopped carrot, celery and onion with a couple of bay leaves and dried chillies in water with a splash of red wine vinegar, salt and pepper and then roasted them in a barbecue-style marinade made from dark and light soy sauces, tomato purée, honey, red wine vinegar and a bottled chipotle sauce for about 45 minutes.

I made a simple coleslaw-style salad with a vinaigrette instead of mayonnaise and also did jacket potatoes with butter and grated cheese.

It was interesting. The meat was very well-done, falling off of the bone but quite fatty and rich-tasting. The almost blackened barbecue sauce worked quite well but not as well as it would have done with pork ribs.

I don’t think it was an entirely successful experiment, there was too much fat for my liking with the beef, but I am sure that there are those who would appreciate the texture more than me.

I think it will be pork ribs next time rather than beef.

Leave a Reply

