Toad in the hole

It hardly counts as a recipe, because everyone makes toad in the hole, surely?

Comfort food par excellence, I love a good toad. I like to experiment with different types of sausages, this one has spicy pork ones with pimenton and garlic, but I think that overall, a plain meaty English snorker is best, perhaps one made from Gloucester Old Spot pork or maybe with some sage in the mix.

What is essential though is onion gravy and I like to use a mixture of red and white onions myself. Mash is good, especially when it is cold, and I like some greens too, steamed cabbage is best, I think.

Leave a Reply

