Cod and prawn curry

This dish was originally going to be a Thai-styled one but I changed my mind and made a more Indian-style curry in the end.

Anyway, I used some sustainably fished cod and raw king prawns as the fish component. These I prepared and left to rest in lemon and lime juice, salt and pepper for about 20 minutes.

The the curry was made from some diced onion, a paste of garlic and ginger and a chopped red and green chilli, plus a curry paste made as follows;

Curry paste;

1/2 teaspoon asafoetida powder
1 teaspoon turmeric powder
1 teaspoon cumin powder
1 teaspoon coriander powder
1 teaspoon chilli powder
a large pinch of crushed dried curry leaves
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
water to make into a thin paste

I fried the onion, chilli and garlic and ginger paste in some oil until the onions were slightly golden and added in the curry paste, stirring until it was all mixed in. Then I added 3 tablespoons of thick Greek yoghurt, 1 spoon at a time, making sure it didn’t split and was mixed in and properly amalgamated.

While this was cooking, I cooked some Basmati rice.

I added some boiling water to the sauce and let it simmer while the rice was finishing off. When the rice was done, I left it in the pan with the heat off and added the fish and prawns to the sauce. I stirred these gently while they simmered in the sauce for about 5 minutes, taking care to not overcook the fish.

I garnished the dish with some chopped green coriander.

I drank a southern French Viognier with this, the 2009 Les Jamelles Viognier from The Co-op. Viognier is a grape that does well in the Languedoc and this Vin de Pays is a good example of what the grape is like. It has an apricot flavour, with some depth and is a powerful enough white to stand up well to curry spices.

Leave a Reply

