A vegetarian Indian meal

I bought a cauliflower at the weekend, I’d thought about doing cauliflower cheese but changed my mind.

Anyway, I hadn’t done a curry recently and I fancied a break from meat today so the cauliflower got used.

I par-boiled it and used it in a chick pea and cauliflower dry curry.

I fried onion, garlic, ginger and chilli in sunflower oil with cumin, kalonji and black mustard seeds and added in some ground cumin, coriander and turmeric and chopped tomato which I cooked for about five minutes before adding in the cauliflower and a drained tin of chick peas.

This was simmered for about 15 minutes so that the flavours amalgamated and then I sprinkled it with some garam masala and turned the heat off.

My other dish was a mixed vegetable curry, made with sliced potato, aubergine and carrot cooked with a similar base as before (onion, ginger, garlic and chilli, with cumin and black mustard seeds, bay leaves and ground cumin, coriander and turmeric) and with a tin of puréed spinach and some hot water added to provide a sauce.

This was cooked for about 30 minutes so that the vegetables were soft and the sauce thick.

Before serving, I tasted both dishes and seasoned them with some salt and pepper and served them with plain Basmati rice and chopped fresh coriander.

With a couple of naan breads and some pickles this was a great tasty and meat-free dinner.

One thought on “A vegetarian Indian meal

Leave a Reply

