Chocolate mousse

I did a pudding tonight, a simple one that I love.

It was a chocolate mousse and the recipe is so easy.

You need;

A standard bar of good quality dark chocolate
4 large separated eggs
An optional tablespoonful of alcohol (cognac, rum, whisky etc) I use Kahlua tonight
A knob of unsalted butter
4 serving dishes

You melt the chocolate in a bowl over a saucepan of boiling water with the alcohol and the butter. and once it is all amalgamated and slightly cooled, stir in the egg yolks.

Then you beat the egg whites to stiffish peaks and fold them into the chocolate mixture, making sure that everything is nicely smooth and there are no white bits left. Use a metal spoon or a palette knife and make sure you keep as much air in as possible.

Then, share the mixture between the four dishes and chill in the fridge until the mousses are set.

That is it. Simple.

I served the mousses with some raspberries dusted with icing sugar on the side.

A delicious dessert.

One thought on “Chocolate mousse

  1. I made this yesterday – with grand marnier rather than kahlua. I wasn’t sure whether my 150g bars were “standard” or whether in fact making a 300g choc/8 eggs batch was over-chocolating, but it came out excellently. I was using single square containers rather than ramekins, as my ramekins have disappeared from my shared kitchen, but it remained solid and un-sunk all the same.

Leave a Reply

