Chicken biryani

I had bought a chicken from a farmer’s market and I jointed it. I thought that the legs would work nicely with rice so I made a kind of biryani.

I sautéed the chicken in oil first and then put it in a casserole while I softened sliced onions and garlic in the same oil with chopped green chillies and some whole spices (cassia bark, green cardamoms, cloves and cumin seeds).

Then I added in a couple of diced tomatoes and some saffron strands and cooked this for a bit longer before adding some cumin and coriander powder, cooking that in and finally adding some Greek yoghurt and golden sultanas, together with some salt and pepper.

I added some washed and soaked Basmati rice to the casserole and poured the spice and yoghurt mixture over the top. I added a small amount of hot water, covered the casserole and cooked it in the oven on a Gas Mark 5 for about an hour.

To go with this, I heated up a naan bread in the oven and made a simple mint and cucumber raita.

I also added a dollop of bottled mint, chilli and mango sauce to the plate and sprinkled it with freshly chopped green coriander.

Leave a Reply

