Spicy lamb burgers

I’d planned to do this yesterday, but I didn’t get time in the end, so it became today’s dinner. Weirdly, in today’s Guardian, Angela Hartnett has a recipe for lamb burgers too.

Mine are a bit different, although I have taken up her idea of serving them on top of toasted sourdough bread. I was going to serve them in pitta bread, but I had a slightly stale sourdough loaf so I decided to use it for this, instead of making panzanella (which was my original plan for the bread).

My burgers were made with;

500g minced lamb
1 teaspoon each of dried mint, oregano and Greek sage
1 teaspoon each of ground cumin, coriander and chilli powder
salt and pepper

I mixed everything together and shaped the meat into patties, freezing two for another occasion.

I made a tomato salad with a diced ripe tomato, a finely chopped chilli, some chopped red onion, extra virgin olive oil, some wine vinegar, salt and pepper.

The burgers were cooked on a hot griddle and served on top of the toasted bread and with the tomato salad, some shredded lettuce and a few chips with garlic mayonnaise as accompaniments.

There was also the option of having some relishes on the side or a dollop of pistou.

Burgers are just such a great thing to eat and are so very versatile.

Leave a Reply

