Tandoori-style chicken with vegetable curry, dhal and rice

This post is about the chicken.

I love tandoori chicken in Indian restaurants and I have tried lots of ways to do it at home, but none really get it right.

Most recipes suggest that you marinate the chicken, which is fair enough, but then they tell you to bake it in the oven or grill it, which is OK but I think that both methods dry the chicken out.

Using the griddle doesn’t give the right result either. It is nice, but it isn’t like any kind of tandoori chicken I’ve ever eaten.

So, this was my latest attempt.

I marinated the chicken pieces, I used strips of breast, in yoghurt with salt, pepper, and ground spices (cumin, turmeric, coriander, Kashmiri chilli powder, cardamom and fenugreek) plus some lime juice and some bottled mint and mango sauce.

After a couple of hours, I then heated up a non-stick frying pan with some sunflower oil and fried the chicken pieces on a high heat on both sides until they were done inside (test for clear juices with the point of a knife) and then removed the meat from the pan.

This gave me juicy chicken and a bit of a char on the edges, but not too much.

Flavourwise, it was pretty good, but it still wasn’t like restaurant tandoori chicken. It was better than baked in the oven though, because it was tender and moist.

I think the only answer is to use a tandoor, but that isn’t really an option.

Leave a Reply

