Lamb and methi curry

I love lamb curries because you can give them a long, slow cook and the flavours amalgamate and become rich and deep.

I used cubes of leg of lamb, which I dry marinated with a mixture of ground cumin, coriander, fennel, chilli powder, salt, pepper, turmeric and paprika.

I fried off some bay leaves, green cardamoms and cassia bark in rapeseed oil and added sliced onions and chopped green chillies and cooked this until the onions were starting to brown.

Then I added a tablesppon of garlic and ginger paste and the meat and stir-fried it until the meat was coloured. To this I added a few tablespoons of a thick reduced tomato paste I’d made at the weekend with some squashy tomatoes, green chilli and red onions and about a pint of coconut milk, together with a tablespoon of dried methi leaves.

I brought this to the boil, reduced the heat and simmered it for over two hours until the meat was really tender, almost falling apart. About 10 minutes before the end I added a large tomato, cut into eigths and a green pepper, sliced into strips.

I served the curry with plain Basmati rice, garnished with chopped fresh coriander leaves.

Leave a Reply

