Beef and peppers in black bean sauce

This was a real success. It is one of the dishes that I like to order in Chinese restaurants and I fancied making it for myself.

I used a couple of those minute steaks that you occasionally see but rump also would work well.

I sliced the meat thinly and marinated it for about half an hour in Shaoxing rice wine, sesame oil, sugar and light soy sauce.

The other ingredients I used were one red and one green pepper, sliced into strips, a small bunch of spring onions, trimmed and sliced into short lengths, beansprouts, a few quartered chestnut mushrooms, two crushed garlic cloves, a heaped tablespoon of black bean sauce and some cornflour paste.

i heated a wok and added some sunflower oil. When this was hot I threw in the peppers, garlic, mushrooms and spring onions, stirring them so they cooked without burning.

Then I added in the beef with its marinade and cooked this for about a minute before adding the beansprouts and black bean sauce.

I carried on cooking for another minute and then added in the cornflour paste, which thickened the sauce almost immediately.

I had already cooked some noodles, which I tossed in sesame oil and served the beef and peppers on top of the noodles.

Leave a Reply

