Chicken with mushroom and tarragon sauce

I’ve been cooking a lot of oriental things recently so I thought that I’d do something French for a change.

I bought a whole chicken and jointed it, it is better value doing this than buying chicken portions most of the time.

I used the breast and wing pieces for this dish and saved the legs for something else.

First I coated the chicken in seasoned flour and fried it in olive oil until the skin was crisp and then removed it from the pan.

Then I added a few crushed and chopped cloves of garlic and a finely diced onion and fried those until they were soft, using extra butter in the pan. Then I added some quartered chestnut mushrooms and cooked them. Finally, I flamed off some marc de Bourgogne and added a glassful of Noilly Prat and some chicken stock.

This was allowed to come to a simmering temperature before I returned the chicken to the pan. This was then covered and left to simmer for about 15 minutes.

To finish the dish off, I adjusted the seasoning and added in a handful of chopped tarragon and parsley and some single cream. This was left to reduce slightly while I finished off the potatoes and some baby courgettes which were sautéed in olive oil and a little butter.

When the sauce was thickened a bit, everything was ready to serve. Chicken and tarragon is one of those classic French marriages of flavours, and the brandy, cream and Noilly Prat makes the sauce rich and unctuous.

Leave a Reply

