Apple and blueberry upside-down cake

I was thinking about a pudding for after Sunday dinner. I had bought some apples and blueberries and my first thought was a crumble, but I wasn’t really happy with that idea.

So, I decided to make an upside-down cake in the same deep dish that I use for tartes Tatin.

I peeled and sliced some Cox’s apples while I melted some butter, soft brown sugar and golden syrup to make a caramel in the dish on the hob. To the caramel I added the apples and then a layer of blueberries.

I took this off the heat and let it cool a bit.

I hade a simple sponge cake batter with 150g each of self-raising flour, golden caster sugar and butter, a teaspoon of vanilla extract, two teaspoons of baking powder and three eggs which was beaten until it was smooth and with plenty of air in the mixture. I used this to top off the fruit in the pie dish.

This was then placed in a pre-heated 160C oven for around 45-50 minutes.

I tested the sponge with a skewer to make sure that it was done and let it cool. Then, I ran a knife around the edge of the cake and placed a plate over the dish and turned it out.

We ate it at room temperature with vanilla custard but cream or ice cream would also be nice.

Leave a Reply

