Roast chicken glazed with pomegranate molasses and lentils with onions

A Middle-eastern kind of Sunday dinner.

I roasted a chicken in olive oil and for the last 20 minutes of cooking, I glazed it with a mixture of honey, Aleppo pepper flakes and pomegranate molasses.

I served the chicken with basmati rice, a crisp mixed salad, cacik and lentils cooked with onions, garlic and cumin.

The lentils were pretty straightforward too. They were the brownish disc-shaped ones, not Puy lentils and they were cooked in salted water until soft, with some sliced onions, chopped garlic and powdered cumin that had been sautéed in olive oil and butter. They were finished off with some lemon juice and chopped parsley.

One thought on “Roast chicken glazed with pomegranate molasses and lentils with onions

  1. Carole, I always forward your posts to my wife, you have very similar cooking tastes. This week she looked at the photo and said ‘That looks great, something I’d like to make, wow! she used pomegranate molasses, I bought that for the first time last week and it was wonderful! She promptly fed me a teaspoon taste.

Leave a Reply

