Vegetable lasagne

It’s just like a meat-based lasagne, but with vegetables!

The vegetables I used were green beans, courgettes, asparagus and broccoli.

First, I made a soffrito with finely-chopped onions and celery, sweated down in olive oil. To this I added some sliced courgettes which I fried until soft, adding a carton of tomato passata, salt, pepper and some Aleppo pepper flakes and letting this simmer for a few minutes.

In the meanwhile I blanched some green beans, asparagus stems and broccoli florets in salted water, adding the asparagus tips right at the end. I drained these vegetables and added them to the tomato sauce and cooked this for a further 10 minutes or so.

Then I assembled the lasagne in the usual way, topping it with b├ęchamel and grated parmesan cheese before baking it in a 170C oven until the top was golden.

I’ve used spinach and chard in lasagne in the past, and you can also leave out the tomato sauce and just make it with all b├ęchamel instead.

One thought on “Vegetable lasagne

Leave a Reply

