Aubergine wholewheat pasta bake

This was something of an experiment, because I’d not eaten wholewheat pasta in decades and I wanted to see if it was any better than it used to be. Back in the 1980s when I last tried it, wholewheat pasta was a dreadful thing, gritty, stodgy and unpalatable, so I approached this with some trepidation.

However, I was pleasantly surprised. It didn’t take any longer to cook than normal pasta and it didn’t have a nasty gluey-yet-gritty texture. In fact, it was pretty nice.

The vegetable component of this dish was made from some aubergines which I fried in olive oil until soft and beginning to caramelise. To this I added some simple tomato sauce which I made with the last ripe tomatoes from the garden, fried in olive oil with a chopped onion and a red chilli, which I roughly liquidised. I also seasoned the tomato and aubergine mixture and added a handful of chopped fresh basil.

When the pasta was cooked I drained it and added it to the aubergines, mixed it well and topped it with a mixture of two grated cheeses; feta and Cheshire. I chose these because I wanted to use them up but also for a different flavour from the usual parmesan topping.

This was baked in the oven for about 30 minutes and served. It made a nice light evening meal and also provided leftovers for a lunch later in the week.

OK, so the wholewheat pasta was nice, but I am still extremely suspicious of brown rice.

Leave a Reply

