Spicy butternut squash and sweet potato soup

When I roasted the butternut squash for Sunday’s roast pork I deliberately cooked more than I needed. This was because I wanted to use the leftover squash in a soup. I wanted that soup to be a hearty, spicy one, so the roasted and caramelised squash was a perfect ingredient, I would add it towards the end of the cooking, but before I liquidised the soup.

The other ingredients were a chopped onion, a large crushed clove of garlic, two cubed sweet potatoes (they were quite small), a large diced carrot, a couple of diced plum tomatoes, olive oil, a teaspoonful of smoked pimenton piccante, half a teaspoon of chipotle powder, salt, black pepper and some fresh basil. I also used some of the leftover Marsala gravy from yesterday’s roast and hot water.

I started by frying the onion and garlic until soft and starting to colour and then added the pimenton, stirring well. Then I added the sweet potato, carrot and tomatoes and cooked these for a few minutes in the oil. Then I added in about 100ml of the gravy and about 500ml of water and seasoned with salt and pepper.

This was brought towards the boil then simmered for about 30 minutes until the vegetables were nice and soft. At this point I added in the basil leaves and the chopped up roasted squash, including the skin. At this point, I liquidised the soup and left it to be reheated when it was needed.

When it was time to eat I adjusted the seasoning and warmed the soup through. We had it with some wholemeal bread and garnished with a dusting of some more smoked pimenton and with olive oil drizzled over the top.

Leave a Reply

