Lamb chops with chickpea mash and spinach

I am not claiming this as an actual Indian plate of food, but it does have some definitely Indian flavours and is inspired by Indian recipes.

First, the lamb chops.

These were marinated in a mixture of garam masala, Kashmiri chilli powder, salt, pepper, lemon juice and rapeseed oil. Then they were cooked on a hot griddle on the hob.

Next, the chickpeas.

These were drained and rinsed tinned ones which were roughly mashed with a potato masher. I fried some sliced onion and chopped green chilli in rapeseed oil until the onions started to brown. Then I added a teaspoon each of ground cumin and ground coriander, stirred and added the mashed chickpeas, together with some hot water.

This was then cooked for about five or six minutes, to warm through the chickpeas.

Finally, the spinach.

This was washed and left to drain in a colander while I fried some sliced onions and green chillies in rapeseed oil in a wok. To this I added a tablespoon of grated ginger and garlic, a teaspoon of ground turmeric, two large chopped tomatoes, salt and pepper. I stirred this around and then added the spinach, stirring all the while over a high heat, so that the spinach wilted, but not so much that the leaves turned to mush.

All three dishes were cooked at the same time. The chickpeas were the quickest and they sat on a very low heat to keep warm while I did the chops and spinach.

I served this with some green tomato pickle that I made a week or so ago with the unripe tomatoes left in the garden. I’ll have to write about this in a separate post.

I also served some bought rotis. These are always useful to have in the house. I warm them through by putting them on the hob over a high flame for about 15-20 seconds each side. This is something I saw on the telly and it definitely works. You need some metal cook’s tongs, though, to turn them and remove them from the heat.

Leave a Reply

