Albanian-style liver (Arnavut Ciğeri)

I like liver but I don’t cook it that often, mainly because my partner doesn’t like offal at all. Generally, I just cook liver in the classic way, thinly-sliced, lightly-floured and sautéed in butter until just pink inside, but a dish I quite often order in Turkish restaurants is Arnavut Ciğeri, which translates as Albanian Liver. It is usually served as a starter.

Anyway, it isn’t difficult to prepare, so I decided to cook this last night, as I was on my own.

Ingredients (for one)

250g lamb’s liver, cut into pieces
2 tablespoons of plain white flour
1 teaspoon of Aleppo pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon salt
freshly ground black pepper (about a dozen turns of the mill)
1 big garlic clove, finely chopped
1 teaspoon ground sumac
1 red onion, thinly sliced
½ a small bunch of chopped parsley
olive oil

Mixl the dried thyme, cumin, salt black pepper and Aleppo pepper with the flour in a plastic bag, add the liver and shake until the liver is coated. Set aside for at least 30 minutes.

Slice the red onion and sprinkle it with the dried sumac. Set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a frying pan and cook the garlic for a minute or so, but don’t let it burn. Add the liver and cook for 3-4 minutes, turning it frequently.

To serve, put the red onion on a plate with half the parsley, put the liver on top and sprinkle over the rest of the parsley.

You don’t need the salad, but I wanted to make this into a main course.

Leave a comment